Progress in Gel! 

Hi all! 

I’ve finally managed to get my gel mani stay on for a week! And I even had to remove it for the first time ever! When I say stay on I literally mean stay on! Before, the layer of gel would literally pop off. One day I pushed a pedestrian crossing button and the whole layer just popped off! SO I had been meaning to pop to Sally’s to see if there is a primer I could get.To my surprise…I went to buy the Gelish primer…I was refused because I don’t have a trade card. To me, who knows nothing about business, this makes no sense. They’ve just lost out on 20 quid.  But I am happy because I ended up buying a Red Carpet primer costing 5 pounds and so far it seems to work. I guess because I have to use lots of creams for my eczema my nails are well moisturised but gel doesn’t like moisture. So the trick is to dehydrate the nail bed (which I hate the sound of!) so that the gel will adhere better. This is the job of the primer. 

For this mani I decided to create a stamp sandwich. I cured a layer of gel then stamped and then layed down another layer of gel. It lasted my whole school week, including chores, washing up and my bubble baths! Hooray! I will keep trying to perfect my gel manis. 

These photos were taken 4 days later. 
 

Leave a comment